Pull – ups – My Phantom Menace

I have a new nemesis – Pull Ups. I can’t friggen do them.  I can barely do ring rows instead.  I need to get my upper body strength better.  I have so much weight to ” pull up”  So – we have a new goal.

images-3

My modification for the pull ups is ring rows.  Ring rows for those who are unaware, is when you have your hands in rings, then lean back and move your feet in , then pull your self up .  See the pic below.

images-5

This particular exercise is terrifying for me as the reigning Mayor of Fatty McButterpants City.   I have to hold myself up on these little nylon straps and pray they hold as I struggle to pull my self up.  I feel as if the whole rig is gonna topple over on me.  I know it won’t , I think it is bolted to the floor, but when you are using your own weight and you have a lot of it, any thing is possible, especially things snapping and breaking.  You know what I mean, that wobbly chair, you look at it and it crumbles to pieces.  You sit your ass in the car and the whole side goes wayyyyyy down.  Forget about sitting in those little kid chairs at Parent Teacher Conferences, HA! Its easy when you have a big butt to break things with it.

The sad thing is, as someone who is larger, this is what I think about.  I can’t wait until I don;t have to think about it. I am well on my way.

If  I looked at this like I was defeated, Sweet Baby Jesus, where would that leave me?  I WILL do it, maybe not soon, but I will.

 

SO yeah, Star Wars reference, the fam loves Star Wars, especially my oldest.    I thought it was a good way to tie them in 🙂

 

Gotta keep up the swim folks!!! We will get there!

 

Meg 🙂

3 thoughts on “Pull – ups – My Phantom Menace

  1. You will get there and even if you don’t, because not everyone can do those damn pull ups myself included, just the fact that you are making this one of your goals and are going to attempt it one day with so much enthusiasm is more than what alot of people are doing. I’m proud of you Meg!

  2. Pingback: It has been a busy busy week | Less Thighs More Thunder

Leave a Reply

