Progression, Yes!

images-2

 

This was was particularly frustrating for me.  Its a mental thing, but I HATE, no LOATHE, not finishing my workouts.  Let me explain – every work out is set to your ability and there is no requirement to complete it, but its a goal, threshold, something to strive for.  It is something I strive for and its a goal each workout.  I must also add, that I am totally comfortable being the last one to finish said work outs. I am okay with that, as long as I finish.

But this week – UGH!  Kicked my ass!   Tuesday night we were supposed to do 6 rounds – I could only do 5.  Wednesday night we were supposed to do 4 rounds, could only do 3.  Thursday night goal was 15 and I did 11.    I was seriously upset over this.  One night, ok, whatever, but 3 in a row? UGH!

Then I chatted with my coaches and looked at it a different way –

 

Tuesday – we ran 200m sprints, Running has long been my nemesis.  It is always a struggle, but this time, I seemed to not have to stop as much as usual. So = Progress.

Wednesday – Turkish getups – It took me forever, but I did them with a weight – FOR THE 1ST TIME! A whole 7.5 lb weight! I know, I know – whoa nelly! Right?! So again = Progress

Thursday – quick and intense short rounds of Ring rows, hands release pushups and body weight squats.  I was able to do ring rows much better I felt than I have in the past, usually after 3 I am dying, but this time I had an easier go of it.  The push ups seem to come easier to me too. So yes , again = Progress!

Today– Tabata, which always kicks my ass, plus it was like 90 degrees, so after the warm up, I was sweating like a pig.  I felt for the most part, each move I was able to do better than I have done before.  Planks are still a dirty bitch, but I ended with box jumps, which are my favorite.  So you got it! = Progress!

 

The moral of my story kids – is its not about Quantity, but Quality! You can do 1000 push ups, but if your form is wrong, you are only doing harm to yourself.  So yes, I was bummin’ about this my incomplete work outs, but I did things I have never done before.  I can see the Progress – I feel the Progress!

You know what I am gonna say next –

 

Gotta keep swimming ! WE can do this!  WE will get there! Thanks for joining the journey!

Feel free to share  your triumphs and tribulations with us!

 

Meg 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

