Lunges – Oh How Thou Art a Heartless Bitch

So yes, a few posts ago, I was jumping for joy over the fact I could do a proper lunge.  With proper lunge technique comes more advanced lunge exercises.  Tonight was one of those exercises.

images-7images-6

Tonight’s workout was a kettle bell work out.  I had no issue doing the clean and Jerks, and no issues doing the hand to hand swing.  But the mother f’er Alternating Overhead Kettle Bell Lunges were seriously a killer for me.  I could of whipped this work outs ass, instead I landed on mine.  Literally, was struggling so bad in my last round, I tried to get up from the lunge and fell to the ground.  Right in front of my whole class, who was already done their work out.  My coach tonight, Dan, was great and really encouraging without making me feel like an ass for taking a digger.

My class  at BeFit Health and Wellness is seriously full of amazing, encouraging people, who were cheering me on as I struggled to finish and get those damn lunges done.  I have only known these people for a couple of months, but this community of people I belong to are truly supportive and downright amazing.  Thank you 6:30 crew!

As most of you know, I am an emotional person, so as I fell to the ground, I could feel the tears welling up in my eyes.    So now, the embarrassment of falling is setting in, the frustration of the difficulty I am having with the move, and the exhaustion from all of it, its all swirling in my head.  Normally when I start crying, I can’t stop, so I sat there for a minute, trying to breathe and holding it in the best I could. I figured that if anyone noticed, they would just think it was sweat, cause I was soaked.

I took a minute, then got back up and finished those damn lunges.  Of course the thought went through my head to give up, or ask for a modification.  But I didn’t.  I finished every round of those lunges.  And after all that – damn it felt good.

Lunges are still a battle, but I gotta keep fighting. I gotta keep swimming… How else am I gonna get through it without falling over?

Always a battle, but never giving in 🙂

Keep swimming folks, we are gonna get there.

 

Meg signature

 

One thought on “Lunges – Oh How Thou Art a Heartless Bitch

  1. Pingback: Remember Why You Started | Less Thighs More Thunder

Leave a Reply

