Swimming Wonder Woman

Finally returned to class last night. Gosh it feels good!

Last night we had wall climbs, front squats, toes to bar and lateral hops.  I have not been able to do anything on the bar, let alone toes to bar, but my coach said lets give it a try.  So I did, and wouldn’t you know – I could jump up to the bar and lift my knees! I know, not ” toes to bar” but it was lifting up myself and I was on the bar!!! Victory! And boy do my palms  still hurt!

Tonight was a circuit .  I really don’t care for these ones, but I do it.  So we had sandbag sprints, floor presses, jump lunges ( had to do reverse lunges) rope pull ups, bench dips and jack knifes.  I really surprised myself tonight .  The sandbags, we used the heavier of the 2 we had, honestly, I don;t know the weight, but I tossed that baby up over my head and onto my back no problem at all.   The sprinting part was more like a fast walk/saunter/ jog, but I got the sandbag up! Floor presses, I don’t usually have an issue with, so I went heavier tonight and went with the 25 lb dumb bells.  The jump lunges, I still can’t do, so I had to do reverse lunges.  Then, the rope pull ups, I can’t do those for shit.  And my palms hurt so much from last night’s workout.   Then we had bench dips, I can somewhat do those.  But then – the jack knifes.  When I saw the giant ball I was trying to see what we were going to do with it.  I had never done them before.  So, during the workout instruction, I asked , and got to be the guinea pig.  Sweet Baby Jesus was that fun!  The rolling around on the ball to get on and off was pretty hilarious too.  Imagine my fat ass rolling around – seriously – it was funny.

Now more than ever, I need to take care of myself.  I am on the right path, and I feel so good knowing that I kinda veered off the path and was able to get right back on.  I have not been able to do that before.  I can honestly say I love working out.  I love the sense of accomplishment.  I love the smaller clothes! I love feeling better! Feeling healthier! So, I am not a complete health food nut, so what? I am doing this baby steps and small swims.

I have to keep swimming.  I find myself saying this now even when I am not working out.  I gotta stay afloat. I feel like I am sinking in so many aspects of my life right now, drowning even.  Somehow, I am making it work.  I got the drive, just waiting for the payoff I suppose.  I have to get healthy, I have to be here for my family.  I don’t want my poor decisions to hurt them down the road.

I feel like this whole process ( and some prozac, lol) is helping me with how I handle things.  We are all stronger than we think.  I think this is bringing out my inner Wonder Woman.  images

 

Damn Right I am Wonder Woman! I think there is a little bit of her in all of us.  Grab your ropes folks! We have some got ass kicking to do!

 

On another note, Mum is still in the hospital,thought things were getting better and now not so much.  She is still holding steady and has such a great outlook.  Thank you to everyone for your well wishes and kind thoughts.  It means the world <3!!!

Blog Signature

 

Leave a Reply

