A Week of Highs and Lows

Things are returning to their normal schedule here in our household.  Back to my normal schedule for classes.  Worked out Monday, Wednesday and Thursday this week.  Mondays work out was tough, but I did it.  I am still having trouble with my squats and doing them properly,  attributed to my tight quads I suppose.  I had to resort to a rolling against a yoga ball on the wall to get them done properly, which I will admit, was pretty fun.

Wednesday we did planks.  As you can imagine with this hefty body, planks suck.  I can barely do them for 30 seconds, let alone the minute we had to do.  I know, as you are reading this, you are probably like ,its just a minute, no biggie.  Well, my friends – TRY IT.  It is not so easy.  So, of course I am struggling.  We had to do (3) sets of 1 minute planks.  First one, I think I held for about 30 seconds and had to drop.  Which is frustrating as hell to me.  Second set, my coach, Holly, said I want you to go for 40 seconds.  So we begin, and I was able to do at least 40 seconds before dropping.  Then, the 3rd set. We get up and she starts going ” you’re gonna do it Meg! Don’t you drop! You got it! Don’t drop Meg! Don’t drop! ” And I didn’t!!!!!! I held on by the grace of God for the whole minute!!!!!

Meg's Plank

Me doing my plank. I am the big gal in the pink shirt in the front. Photo Credit: Holly Leonard , BeFit Health and Wellness

After the planks, we had Kettle Bells swings and box jumps. I love box jumps. Now that I can do them, I really enjoy them. Kettle Bells on the other hand, not so much.  Plus, this night my weight was increased. I usually do the 26 lb and I was moved up to 36 lb.  My heaviest ever. Where I was standing in the gym, I was facing a window and since it was getting dark, I could see my reflection really well, like a mirror. It was horrible.  I thought, ” How motivating it would be” and instead, I saw this gross blob trying to exercise.  Sweet Baby Jesus, do I make some ugly ass faces when working out.  I suppose we all kinda do, but you just never see your self.  In my head I guess I would see myself as stronger and instead, I was just disgusting.  At least, I felt like I was.  Ugh.

Then we come to Thursday. We had dead lifts and 400 m runs.  I really wasn’t too worried about the runs since I have done the mile without stopping, I figured a few 400’s I could do. Slow of course , but doable.  We worked on our dead lifts first, I was able to get up to 120 lbs.  My heaviest yet! I was pretty happy with that.  Then in the WOD, we did lighter dead lifts, then the runs.  I was down to 95 lbs, we had to do 10 dead lifts, then run 400.  First set, I could do, slow, but not too bad.  Second set – forget about it.  Dead lifts went ok, but the running sucked – badly.  I couldn’t do it without walking. My legs were killing me.  I was so damn pissed. Incensed really.  I told myself, I am doing the next set and I will do the run with out stopping.  My body had other plans, I had walk even more then the third set.  I was furious! What the hell was going on?!?! I have not worked so hard to complete these to fail now.  So, of course, I was voicing my frustration to my coach, Jane.  And her with all her brilliance – made me see the light.  She said that I had lifted more than ever before and that put some more strain on my body. I essentially sacrificed my run for my lift.  But since it was a victory lift, it was ok.  Take the good with the bad.  So yes, I was pissed, but by the end of class, I was feeling better about my accomplishment of the night.   Thanks for the pep talk Jane!

I am signed up for 5 classes next week.  Let see how I do!

Blog Signature

8 thoughts on “A Week of Highs and Lows

  1. Fan-freakin-tastic. You are doing great. Keep up the work. Make sure that when you do the ball squats, that your back doesn’t round out around the ball at the bottom. Keep your back parallel with the wall. There are alot of reasons that squats aren’t good right now…but you will get them, and you didn’t let that stop you (sorry, the trainer is coming out in me…lol).

    You rocked it regardless and improvised. Celebrate that…that is freaking awesome!

Leave a Reply

