Feeling good

Last night I was in the zone. I felt awesome. I finally was able to do ring dips!!! I had to use a band ( green) but I was able to do it!!! Hooray! Progress! I also used heavier weights than I have been using.  Here is my work out from last night:

20 minute AMRAP

5 DB snatches R/L 35 lbs

6 alternating pistols R/L ( used the bench as a target)

7 ring dips ( green band)

The goal was to get in 5 rounds. Usually when they say the goal is….. rounds, I never meet the quota.  Which is okay, but I would love to meet the quota.

And guess what? Last night I did! Yup – 5 rounds! Plus I started on my 6th!  I felt amazing when I walked out of class last night. AMAZING! Beast mode!

Me doing ring dips! Thanks Holly for capturing the moment!

 

Tonight’s class was, I felt, more difficult. Running. UGH! Running as you all know has been my nemesis.  Although we are not good friends, I still give running a shot.  I know I am slow and I have accepted that.  I just keep swimming, keep moving and eventually, I will get there. Tonight’s workout had 800m runs in each round, looking at it, I was ready to die, but I said to myself, if I can finish 2 rounds with (2) 800m runs, I would be really happy with that. So, we started, 800m run, me bringing up the rear, I have some truly brilliant and amazing people in my class who were so encouraging and supportive.  It really means the world to me.  So, yeah, me finishing last, but thats ok.  After the first 800m run, it was 100 Mountain Climbers , then 100 Crab Kicks.  Mountain Climbers and Grasshoppers I can do much easier if the song playing has a good beat. I think during my climbers, it was Crazy Train, so it did not work as well. I completed the climbers and kicks, then went for my 2nd run.  The coach told me I could do 400 instead of the 800, but I told her I wanted to do the 800 and if I didn’t finish the workout, I was okay with that, but I wanted to do  the runs. So, I set out, another 800 down. Then it was onto 75 lateral hops and 75 plank reaches.  Holy Crap were those hard.  By the time I was done with the reaches, time was just about up, so the coach told me to go run a 200m.   So, I did.  I didn’t finish the workout, but I met my goal for the night, and I was really happy with that.  If we had all the elements without the runs, I could of crushed it.  But – I ran (2) 800m sets and did not stop. I did not walk. I kept moving.   And that’s all that matters.

When I started this journey, one of my goals was to run a 5k.  I thought I would be at that point by now.  I am totally not, but I am okay with that. I am okay being slower.  I am gonna get faster .  There is a lot of weight hitting the pavement.  Sometimes, it just takes longer.  I will get it and when I do that 5k, you will be hearing me shout it from the roof tops.

I just have to keep swimming.  Stay afloat.  I am feeling great and I know I am on my way.  It’s a great thing 🙂

Blog Signature

 

4 thoughts on “Feeling good

  1. You go, lady! Loving to see to those beautiful dips. I never thought that I could do a 5K when I started running again (since high school). Now with my running group, we are almost there. Keep on doing your thang!

Leave a Reply

