Haters Step Off!

I have done some amazing things on this journey. Well, things I feel are amazing.  I have been at this now since March and I feel great.  I have gotten wonderful compliments and feedback from so many people.  But as soon as I said I was doing a 5K, things changed.  People in my gym have been nothing but extremely supportive, but people outside of the gym, and even some family have not been.  The other day was the last straw, so I took to the Less Thighs More Thunder Facebook Page and posted a little rant.  For those who are not on Facebook, here is what I wrote :

I am pumped and terrified about my first 5k. But let me say this – I am adult, I know my body and I, above anyone else know what I can do. So what on Gods green earth makes people think I am NOT ready for this?!?! Yes, I am over weight, yes, I am a slow runner, yes, its gonna take me a while, but so help me, if I hear one more time… ” You sure you can do this? You sure you want to do this? Are you really sure?” I am gonna drop kick someone! Ugh! Have faith people! I HAVE GOT THIS!!! ….. i feel better now”

It was driving me nuts – to keep having people ask me if I am ready, if I think I can do it. I didn’t understand why all of of sudden people were thinking I Couldn’t do it.   I was just really bothered by it. The last comment I got was from my grandfather, now , granted he is almost 90 years old but after it infuriated me, it made me think.  I started talking about it with my oldest and his response when I asked him about it was ” Aren’t you jumping the gun just a bit?” I asked him why he said that.  He said, “shouldn’t you do a 3k first? ” I explained that I have already run farther than 3k.  He said ” Oh”.  Then it dawned on me, these people have no idea what I have done or what I am capable of.  The folks in class, they see me, they are are also doing it themselves, everyone else, just has to take my word for it, that I can do it.  I guess my 33 lbs weight loss isn’t convincing enough.

So, my 5K is a week from today. I know I can do a 5k. I know I can , but I have yet to run that far. So, yesterday, one of my friends from the gym and I set out to run Lake Quannapowitt in Wakefield  My goal was to do at least 2 1/2 miles. It was rough for me, but running with someone, definitely helps someone like me.  My friend Christel was an awesome running partner.   By the time we were done, I had run my own 5k! I just kept going and in the end, I freaking did it!

I gotta admit, I  was so overcome that I actually did it, I cried.

I squished the haters! I was victorious!

IMG_0050

 I am going to finish my race next week, I am not going to let anyone hold me down.  I got this!

Blog Signature

7 thoughts on “Haters Step Off!

  1. Congrats. That’s awesome! Sorry to hear about the naysayers. This is your journey, not anyone else’s so stick with your personal goals. I’m sure being a Crossfitter helped you to build your stamina and endurance. Very best wishes.

  2. Well done you! 33 pounds is a lot and doing a 5k is also amazing! I did a 5k last year (before my knee op) and people were all “Really? Your going to run?” Despite them knowing that I am a frequent runner (I make sure I post it on facebook 😉 ). People who are ‘haters’, as you call them, are only really questioning you and your decision because they are jealous! They know that they couldn’t do it, and if they could they know they couldn’t do it while being a bit overweight. Another thing I find is that some people somehow don’t seem to understand why ANYONE would want to RUN that FAR. It only dawned on me that a lot of people (unless they are runners) see running as some sort of punishment and therefore say “Really? You think you can do it?”. Remember, people only project unto you what they are feeling about the subject at hand 😉

    I know you can do it! Keeping my fingers crossed for you (so that no injuries happen!) 🙂

  3. You hit the nail on the head when you said that the people who doubt you don’t know what you’re capable of.

    But YOU do. Kudos to you.

    And heck, you do CF. A 5k is a warm up to us Crossfitters, right? 😉

  4. Pingback: Remember Why You Started | Less Thighs More Thunder

Leave a Reply

