The Man Maker

Yes kids, Man Makers were the nemesis last night in class.  For those of you unfamiliar with Man Makers , let me explain.  So, I equate them to a Burpee on steroids.  Here is how they are done:

 

Yeah, I know – totally awesome, right?!? Cha!!!! They are a killer, especially for me, since they are similar to a burpee which I struggle with.  So, let’s go over how I did.  For starters, we did 100 sit ups.  I banged out 20 pretty quickly, then the rest were a struggle.  The goal was to do them as fast as possible to move on the man makers.  I am already feeling the sit ups, whenever I laugh, go figure.  So, finished those up, last as usual, then onto the man makers.

We had to do 30 Man Makers.   I really need to get myself some gloves for when we do these types of moves, I always use some towels over the dumb bells so my hands don’t hurt as bad.  So, I haven’t done man makers in a while but I thought I could do a few at a time and chip away at it.  I ended up doing 2 at a time.  And honestly, the hardest part was the clean and squat thrust for me.  I could barely get my arms up.  I thought I was going to drop the dumb bells on my head.  And , I have been using the 35 lb weight lately, but I knew there was no way that was going to happen, so I went down to 22 lbs.  All in all, I felt the Man Makers defeated me, badly.  I was the last to finish.  Which, that is fine for me, but still stings.  I completed the 100 sit ups and 30 Man Makers in 24:05 .

Then it was onto rope climb practice.  I tried again, more like Tarzan swinging from the vine, but at least I tried. I can get myself off the ground, I just cannot move myself up the rope, which of course, is the point.

Last night I left class exhausted and feeling defeated.  For as long as I have been doing this I feel I should be a lot better at things.  And some things, I totally am.  The reality is, I am still carrying 235 lbs and no matter what, things will still be a struggle.  I have to always remind myself that this is a lifestyle change and it does not happen over night.  Honestly, I see this process taking me years to be where I want, and from there it is upkeep.

I am determined to keep moving and keep going.  To Keep Swimming.  I use my ” Just Keep Swimming” mantra everyday.  I am afraid if I stop swimming, I will sink and never return to the surface. I have to keep going.

Blog Signature

6 thoughts on “The Man Maker

  1. Meg, don’t be so hard on yourself. Have you seen the Man Makers? I wanted to puke just looking at the video and you hot through 30 of them with a decent weight too! I know it can be annoying sometimes and we tend to focus on the things we can’t still do at Crossfit, but I’m sure you can do a lot more than you did when you first started. That’s progress! Celebrate it! And so what if you finish last, it just means your cheering squad is bigger and more people are there to celebrate with you. I know I am! You did awesome on that WOD. I don’t think I would have been able to do as well as you did! Keep swimming, I’m swimming next to you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

