Set me on fire

I drove home from class last night so upset . It was a sweltering 48 degrees here in Massachusetts so we had a running workout .

I haven’t run for a while but I was looking forward to the challenge. I went into the WOD confident that I could do at least 3 of the 4 rounds in the time allowed 26 minutes . I have gotten stronger and I am progressing so I felt I could do better than I have done in the past . Not saying I am Carl Lewis by any means, or even the person who dusts off his sneakers for him, but I really thought that since I am doing better, my running would of not been so bad.

FAIL.  Massive Massive Massive Fail.  Ugh.

So, lets recap my class .  We did our warm up and went over the WOD.  It was:

4 rounds 26 min cap

30 DB Walking Lunges

15 Pullups

400 m run

I got my DB’s – I grabbed 20’s since my lunges still need improvement.  Practiced a bit , that was good, then over to the bar.  There it was decided that I would do ring rows since my pullups are not so great, there is no way I could do 15 and still get through even 3 rounds.  So ugh again – ring rows.

So this starts my deflation of the evening.  Then we start the WOD.  My walking lunges, yeah, took me longer than everyone, which I knew would happen.  Then onto the devil ring rows, then out for my run.  I felt great going down the stairs hitting the pavement, felt I had a good pace, but soon realized that no, I totally didn’t and I was ready to die.  Over and over, even out loud ” Just Keep Swimming, Just Keep Swimming” Those 3 little words have helped me so much.  Why is it that I am so ready to curl up into a ball and cry in the road when I do these things?  It is fucking hard. I mean WTF?  Why can’t I get over this hurdle? I know I know, run more.  Duh.  I am going to try and run more so I can do these 5 K’s I want to do and not die.

So, back to the WOD, I get back in  – round 1 done! Got right back into my walking devil lunges,  Back to ring rows, back outside – get back in round 2 down.  Round 3 Lunges were like someone set my legs on fire, so hard!  Back to the ring rows, where it felt like my arms were on fire, Then back outside for my run – where I wished someone would just set me on fire.  My last run was so slow going.  My legs would barely move.  On the plus side, my calves that used to bother me all the time when running weren’t bothering me.  I finally made it back in – round 3 done.  My time was 29:57.  Over the 26 minutes.  But at least I got 3 rounds.

I know in the big picture, I did ok.  I think I just got inside my own head.  It just stunk.

But I really thought about this.  I was going to blog last night night, but figured it would be too negative.  I was really upset and I let it get the best of me.

So – how do I fix this?  Well, as I said, set me on fire, right?

Just call me a Phoenix – rising from the ashes of my former self.

FantasyFirePhoenix

Reborn and ready to kick some ass!

Blog Signature

 

8 thoughts on “Set me on fire

  1. Pingback: Phoenix Rising | Less Thighs More Thunder

Leave a Reply

