Don’t Knock It Til You Try It

images-4

 

As many of you have heard on the news or read online recently, an experienced Cross Fit Athlete was severely injured in a freak accident.  For some reason, this means everyone and their brother can comment on the dangers of Cross Fit all while none of them have ever even tried it.  While I completely feel for this individual, who by his own account said it was an accident, I feel his situation is bringing up all the stigma’s associated with Cross Fit and I would like to toss my 2 cents in.  By no means am I am Cross Fit competitor, I simply go to Cross Fit classes.

Cross Fit is like any other sport, any other physical activity, there is always a risk for injury if you do not use proper technique. I have only been to classes at my gym, so I cannot compare how places do things, but what I can say is that, my coaches monitor all of us.  We take time to go over the moves .  They make sure you know what you are doing and if you cannot correctly implement the moves, they give you a modification so you can work toward the proper move.

I have been reading several articles about this over the past week.  What it seems to me is that most CF classes are very large with not much one on one interaction.  I suppose if you have been properly trained , then I guess you wouldn’t need as much coaching.  But for people just jumping into this and being tossed into a situation like that, how can people not get hurt?

I have thrived in my CF classes.  My gym is limited to 12 people per class. 12. Each one of us gets individual attention and they go over each move, even if we have done it 100 times.  We go over proper techniques .  And when they introduce a new move, we work on it for a while before it hits the WOD.  Good Lord , who knows how messed up I would be if they did not correct me every time I do the move wrong.

Cross Fit is intense, without a doubt.  It pushes you to your limits, but you need to know what those limits are.   Yes, you want the best time , you want the heaviest weight, or maybe your just want to do the WOD Rx.  But for goodness sakes! Be smart about it people.  You can have the best coach in the world working with you one on one, but if you aren’t going to listen to them, what’s the point?  It makes me really mad when people get these ideas of what it is like when I have experienced just the opposite.  Everyone is entitled to their opinion I suppose.

I have been supremely blessed with my gym, its techniques,  and my amazing coaches Holly and Jane.  If you are in the North Shore area, check them out Befit Health and Wellness. 

Not all Cross Fit’s are the same. This sport has changed my life.  Don’t knock Cross Fit til you try it.

How about you? I know many of you  are Cross Fitter’s.  What are your thoughts? What are your boxes like?

Blog Signature

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Don’t Knock It Til You Try It

Leave a Reply

