Falling is easy…

Falling is easy , it’s getting back up that becomes a problem…” Staind

Hello there folks !
If you are following along , you know how I just got out of my funk . I “fell”. But I am happy to report , I got out of the funk and back into the groove !

In class on Monday I took a crack at 14.2 . I knew I would not be able to do the Chest to Bars but I was determined to do at least 1 Overhead Squat . I started warming up and quickly realized, hell no, I had not done OH squats that heavy before.  But my coaches were freaking amazing and kept encouraging me.  So I kept practicing, literally falling on my ass several times.  Good thing I still got a big butt, lol.  Finally it comes time to start the clock.  My coach got a ball for me to use as a target to make sure each rep counted.  So, I start.  Didn’t do it on my 1st attempt, but kept trying.  And wouldn’t you know, I ended up getting 5!!!! I know some of you are thinking, 5? seriously? but to me – it felt – still feels amazing.  When I felt my butt touch that ball, it was the best feeling!  So yes, my 14.2 score is just a 5, but it is one heck of a 5 for me!

But wait – there’s more!

After my 14.2 it was time for the day’s WOD.

OTM for 14 min

Odd :3-5 HSPU

Even- 10 Box jumps

For the HSPU, My target was (2) 25 lbs plates and an abmat.  I have got the handstand part down now, and I can stay on the wall.  It was the push up part that was still alluding me.  Until Monday! Yup! I did them! I ended up doing 8 all together!  So excited! I have been working on them for so long, I almost sat there and cried.  My coach Jane was right there beside me pushing me and encouraging me.

images-7

 

All in all Monday was freaking amazing for me and exactly what I needed to get myself back swimming and up from the fall!

Wednesday

Strength practice was Alternating lunges.  4×16 reps – for this I did 55 lbs. This was a big step for me since my lunges have always been a struggle. It was wicked challenging, but I was determined to do it.  Boy, do my legs still hurt!

Then onto the WOD 12 min AMRAP

4 KB snatch R/L 26 lbs

6 1 arm KB Swing R/L 35 lbs

8 Burpees with 25 lb plate

Those damn burpees kill me every time! I suck at them, yes they are better than they were, but still, suck city.

Thursday night my son, Jason , was in the talent show at his school , so no class.  I have to say, he did a great job as host!

 

I have really grown through this process and everyday I am more and more proud of myself.  I am still riding high on the fact that I did not give up on myself, which is totally something I would of done before.   So, it may be baby steps, but , they are my steps and I can do this!

So, what is on tap for Monday – my attempt at 14.3

Deadlifts – I got that. no prob because I am only going to be able to do the 1st set.  I can’t jump on the 20″ box.  I crashed trying the 18″ and quite frankly, I value the use of my legs and shins too much to try it.  So, I will do my deadlifts and submit my score.  I have a feeling this weekend will see many an injury.

 

How are you doing? What are your triumphs? I would love to read all about them, please share!

We gotta keep swimming folks, never give up!

Blog Signature

 

One thought on “Falling is easy…

  1. Pingback: Remember Why You Started | Less Thighs More Thunder

Leave a Reply

