Chips and Dead Lifts

First, I gotta say, tonight was fantabulous.  Simply fantabulous.

I want to first go over ” chips”.  In my gym, we use chips to keep track of our rounds.  Not sure if every gym does this, but we do.  For me, its not about how many chips are there, the chips themselves represent accomplishment.  On every level.  And I suppose that yes, I  can count to 5 all by myself and keep track on my own, but what fun is that?  It is the best feeling to see all the chips you took moved from the start pile to the finish.  Its symbolic.  I look forward to seeing those chips go from pile to pile.  Now granted, for me, usually I am over confident and not all my chips move.  Some times its only a few.  But it truly is what they represent that is the point.

Here is a pic of tonights chips :

5 Chips = 5 Rounds = Happy Meg

5 Chips = 5 Rounds = Happy Meg

We had a 10 minute WOD = 5 rounds:

6 Alternating DB snatches – went up to 40 lbs on this. You guessed – PR BABY!

8 Hands release push ups

12 V ups

Time 9:30

I LOVE SNATCHES.  Go ahead and get your dirty little snickers out of the way, yes, its funny…  But I love barbell snatches, Dumb bell snatches, Kettle Bell snatches.  I have always had an easier time with the move, so I think that is why I  have always enjoyed them.

The WOD was after the strength portion of the evening, which was Deadlifts.

 

Tonight my friends, was an epic night for yours truly.  I crushed a goal.  Crushed.  Exceeded.  Boom.  Bang.  That just happened!

Some of you may have read my post back from January regarding doing the Crossfit Total WOD , where I dead lifted 210 lbs.  I did the 210 and I clearly remember the struggle to get to 215.  I couldn’t get the bar off the ground for 1 rep.  I remember the defeat I felt.  I was still super proud I got to the 210 but Man, I wanted the 215.

Guess what kids?  I DID IT!!!! I DID 215 LBS!!! NOT JUST 1 REP BUT 4 TOTAL!!! yeah, yeah, I know not that many but Oh My Freaking God, does it feel AWESOME!!!!

Here is a pic of the big moment.

 

 

215 Lbs Baby!!!

215 Lbs Baby!!!

 

IMG_0758

Not a pretty pic, but such a pretty feeling!

I understand these photos are not flattering by any way shape or form, and I will proudly say, ” I DO NOT CARE”

These photos represent a goal.  A goal I crushed.  A new goal being created.  And I suppose I could go the way of the main stream and  photoshop my big ol belly from hanging over the bar. But Fuck that, I earned this shit. The belly will go down, And I will continue to rise and be strong.

 

This is what a real person with real goals and real struggles and real rolls and real obesity looks like.  She ain’t pretty, but she is damn fantastic.

I am a work in progress and I am damn happy with the way I am going.

I do have to give a big shot out to my coach Jane who was such a pusher and so awesome when I asked her to take my picture.

I feel like my train is getting back on her tracks and things are getting to be where they need to be for me.  Every day, I tell myself ” Just Keep Swimming”  I keep going and I don’t stop.  Nothing worth fighting for was ever earned easily.

So , get out there and be your own hero. Put on your cape, Put on your rope, grab your cuffs, get your shield, hop in your Batmobile and get going.

 

Own the day, Seize the Day, Claim the Day.

 

I would to see pictures of you folks and your PR’s!  If you would like to share, send them to lessthighsmorethunder@gmail.com.

 

Blog Signature

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Chips and Dead Lifts

  1. Meg! I just saw your post on WOC=Strong on FB! Way to go lady! Many of my fellow Crossfitters have said I should post on the page as well, but I just don’t feel brave enough to do so! Cuddos to you!

    • Thanks! You totally should! I am amazed at the feedback. Almost 1500 likes , 29 shares, and 184 comments?!?!? I am blown away. Its an awesome group of people out there. Your progress pics are awesome. Go for it and share!

  2. Pingback: Love and Handstands | Less Thighs More Thunder

Leave a Reply

