Let’s Talk About Body Image

Tell me what you like about yourself and your looks.

Tell me what you dislike about yourself and your looks.

 

I bet you it is easier for you to answer the 2nd statement than the 1st.

Why is that ? Why is it so much easier to focus on the negatives than the positives? Especially when it comes to our bodies and how we perceive them ?

 

The beginning of every year has just about all of us focused on losing weight or getting fit.  Our most common resolution is ” To fix ourselves”.  I have found more and more that my thinking was wrong on the subject.  If a skinny person told me that they ” need to lose 10 lbs” or ” I’m so fat” or something like that , my usual response was ” I wish I was fat like that ” or ” I wish I only had 10 lbs to lose”.  My thought was, this person looks great, I would be so happy if I looked like them.  It really never occurred to me, that they are unhappy with themselves.  And who the hell am I to judge that , or be jealous?

We all have shit we want to work on, in some way or another.  Some of us, want that to be our looks.  Be it our size, our hair, our face, it doesn’t matter.  We need to stop judging and just let everyone be themselves .  Embrace that people want to change themselves for reasons that would make them happy.

Take this whole Bruce Jenner stuff going on at the moment.  What ever is going on in Bruce’s life, its not our business. Regardless if they make a life in the public eye, what they want to do or be – its not the public’s call.  Let Bruce be Bruce. Whoever that may be.

Then there is static about a plus size model in Sports Illustrated.  Come on folks!  People over a size 10 need a bathing suit too!

 

Why do we care so much ?

 

It all goes back to Body Image and what we want to be and how we see ourselves.

 

I have always had a negative image of myself.  I really don’t know why, but I have.  Let’s go over how crazy I am.

 

This is me as a baby with me momma.  Prob 1981 . I have issues . I think I look like  a monkey baby here.

Meg&Mum

Meg and Mum 1981

Here I am in High School.  This is where I thought I was fat.  All size 7 , 128 lbs of me.

Meg HS

High School

High School was really where I felt the worst, all by my own doing.  I mean seriously, I thought I was fat here.  What the hell was the matter with me?  If only I could go back.  But I can’t , I made this bed, and I am through lying in it.  This was my goal picture.  But I have to be realistic,  I am 34 years old, not 17 anymore.  It’s time I focus on being the best me that I can be, today.  Not best me from 1997.  It has taken me so long to get that through my head.

So here I am today.  Working on myself and trying to get back to get to a place where I am happy with myself.

215 Lbs Baby!!!

215 Lbs Deadlift Baby!!!

Its a journey as you all know.  I think I have grown, not only stronger physically, but mentally since I made this decision to do something about myself. I keep swimming.  Keep going.

 

I started back working out in January , and I am down 5 lbs!

Its slow and steady to win that race.   There are no quick fixes and there are going to be set backs.  I think we all need to get out of our own heads.  I will get there.  And you will too.

We need to focus on happiness within ourselves instead of what we look like.

Everyone no matter the size has something they don’t like, I am working on liking all my parts and making them what I want .  We should be who we want, how we want and we shouldn’t care what anyone thinks.

I know that is not easy.  But maybe we are all a work in progress through our lives, instead of a finished product.  Always room to grow.

 

So I ask all of you now, Tell me what you like about yourself.  Share it! Shout it from the rooftops!  Be you ! Embrace all of your qualities!

Let’s get out there and change the world.  WE can do it. One mindset at a time.

 

Don’t forget to check me out on my  Facebook Page  = Less Thighs More Thunder .     I post little things over there too.

 

We are all awesome. Sometimes we just need to be reminded of that.

Spread the Awesome.

Blog Signature

 

 

4 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About Body Image

Leave a Reply

