Sometimes you surprise yourself

Happy Easter Folks!

 

Sometimes you surprise yourself, I think that is really the best surprise .  I was at the gym 3 times this week .  Did some new stuff and did things that honestly going into it , I thought I had no chance.

 

I have been pretty sore this week, which sucks, not gym sore, but me sore, if that makes sense.  I started taking Plexus .  One of my blog friends I met a few years ago got me into it.  I  have to say, I don’t know how, but this stuff works.  For example, I am always sore, but when I take it, I am not as sore, and I feel great.  That’s enough for me.  If you are interested in reading up on Plexus or would like to check it out and try some your self, check out my site : Meg’s Plexus site.  Yes, I signed up to sell it, but really just to get a better deal on it.  Hey, at this point, anything that makes me feel better, I owe it to myself to try it.  And the doc said it was good too.

The gym this week was great!  Three times again, really happy with that .

Monday – Sweet Baby Jesus – Monday was killa!

It was :

15 Wall balls, 15 burpees ( modified) ,15 KB swings ( i think I had 26 lbs), 15 BW squats, 15 side toe touch planks, 75 singles, 15 Step ups, 15 Push Press 55 lbs

The work out was 2 mins to get through as much as you can, rest, 4 mins to get through as much as you can starting from beginning, rest, 6 mins get through as much as you can from the beginning , rest , then get through all of it.  Man O Man.  It was rough.  Even though everyone else was doing 25 reps, and I had things modified, it was so hard!

Wednesday – Lift Day !

We worked on Front Squats – now since returning to the gym my squats are just as horrid as they were when I started 3 years ago.  If not worse, I did not think I was going to be able to do this, let alone with the bar…. And whaddya know? Not only did I do them with the bar, I kept adding weight!

Here is how I did :IMG_4112

10 reps @ 30 lbs

8 reps @35 lbs

6 reps @40 lbs

4 reps @ 45 lbs

2 reps @ 50 lbs!!!!

And I did not fall over!!! I thought for sure that was going to happen.

 

Then we did some bench presses.  Surprisingly , I have never done bench presses before, but I gotta say…. Mama like!  These are awesome!! Where have they been all my life?!

For these I knew I could do them , no question. Here is how I did:

10 reps @ 55lbs                                                        Bench Press!

8 reps @ 65 lbs

6 reps@ 70 lbs

4 reps @ 75 lbs

 

 

 

Please do not mind my Tweedle belly which you can clearly see on display here.

By Tweedle, I mean Tweedle Dee and Tweedle Dum.  See what I mean, lol.images-2

After that , we had some accessory work. It was 3 rounds, my weight kept going up each round, which felt great .  I love lifting the weights.

8 landmine bent over rows – 10lbs, 20 lbs, 25 lbs

8 single arm floor press ( a fav! ) 20 lbs, 22 lbs, 25 lbs

20 mountain climbers, 20 supermans

I felt so freaking amazing when I left the gym on  Wednesday.

 

 

Thursday – Holy Crap on a Cracker. IMG_4116

It was a 20 min AMRAP.

8 DB Snatches Alt 25 lbs!

12 single leg squats ( did this modified with the help of the TRX)

6 Plank rows ( no weight) into a reverse lunge ( no weight)

I don’t know how, but I made it through 4 plus 8  rounds.  At one point during the squats I was trying to breathe, and I kept saying ” Just Keep Swimming ” Swear to God, that mantra works wonders.

IMG_4117

My round chips – 3 White for the Goal , 1 Red for Goal Smashed!

Then there was a ”  But wait , there’s more ” Bonus – 4 rounds , 30 mountain climbers, 10 bw squats.  I completed it in 3:46.  How I did not collapse, I will never know.  Another happy surprise, lol.

 

I also tried cutting out bread , pasta and soda.  Past 2 weeks I have done pretty good.  No pasta at all, which for me is an eternity.  Soda, I had some this weekend, and bread too.  It’s Easter. Fresh snowflake rolls.  I did not stand a chance. But hey, whats life if you can’t enjoy it , right?  I will be back on the good streak tomorrow. Back to the gym too.

I am trying to get in walks where I can .  I work on a very busy stretch of road, and we are surrounded by trailer parks.  Not exactly a scenic walk, but a walk is a walk. Today, we got home from Easter festivities and I took my pup for a walk.  At least its something.

 

Today was the 1st Easter without my Gram.  We had steaks and french fries, it was what my Gramps wanted, so we did it.  It just did not feel like Easter without her.  I would bring her Easter Lilies here and there, so I wanted to make sure I got one to her today .  I think she would of liked them, they smelled beautiful.

Ready to crush another week! Are you ??

Blog Signature

 

 

Leave a Reply

