Things have changed

a062d056bd9dca615cdb72bcfc723567

 

Things have changed drastically in my life since I started my journey.   When I started this, it was a fitness journey. Now my life has become the quest for diagnosis. Not exactly what I wanted out of my life, but this is currently where I am .

So, what does that mean for my blog?

It won’t be as much about weight loss , but rather more about my health issues and daily life. I have to imagine I am not the only one with ongoing medical issues and no diagnosis.

I hope I can share my stories and maybe see some too.

So this is where things currently are in my life medically :

After my disastrous ortho appointment where he basically pressed “repeat” on all the other things doctors have said to me, I went back to my Rheumetologist.  I gotta say, I do really like my Rhumetologist, Dr. Dellaripa.  He actually is very up front with me  and pays attention.  Out of all of the ones I have seen, I feel like it is just as frustrating to him that we cannot figure this out as it is to me.

Dr. Dellaripa wanted to do an MRI.  My knees were in excruciating pain. So , I was down for whatever. I go in for the MRI and the person at the desk asked how my veins were for the contrast.  I told her good, I ,had had  contrast several times before. They call me in.

I’m sitting on the table waiting for the IV.  And he starts to get me into position for the MRI. I questioned , wasn’t I supposed to have the contrast? He goes back and double checks the order, nope, not supposed to have it. We proceed with the MRI. He puts my knee in this boot type thing to keep it down. I thought I was going to scream. It was so painful not being able to move my knee at all, it being locked down in this thing was just horrible.  I was just about to hit the ” help ” button they gave me to stop if I needed to, when it was over. Thank God!

Fast Forward to the next day, Hospital calls me and apologizes profusely that they screwed up and I need to come back to have the MRI done again …..WITH CONTRAST!

To say I was upset and pissed is an understatement. This was complete bullshit.

It was so hard to walk after the first one, I am so glad I had my husband go with me. I was literally hanging on the railings in the hallways to help me walk. So, I was really not looking forward to this one.

This time, they gave me the contrast and it was not as long, thank goodness.

Results – I have arthritis in my knees apparently . It wasn’t there 6 months ago. Also still have enlarged lymph nodes everywhere. Even my knees. Who even knew you have lymph nodes in your knees?  And of course mine are messed up . Dr Dellaripa decided that we are going to treat me with Metheltrexate for the arthritis for the time being.  I had already been tested for Rhumetoid Arthritis and everything came back negative, but he knew I needed something. The plan was to start the meds and go back in a month.

It was definitely a rocky road starting the meds.  Took a few weeks to kick in, to the point where I am now  on a low dose of steroids. But it has been about  4 weeks and there has been a lot of improvement. My right knee is currently pain free. My left knee is still sore, but it is way better than it was .  I even did 5 flights of stairs last week – and survived.  Crazy, right?  Able to fully walk when done.  Don’t get me wrong , I was sore , but I was able to keep pace with everyone for the most part. A victory!

This brings us to last week.  Knees aside, I have not been feeling all that great.  My armpits have been killing me – big indication that I am in the middle of a flare up .  I have not felt any enlarged lymph nodes, but I guess this is their way of letting me know, they are still here.  So, doctor is sending me for another PET Scan , went for more blood work and now
I need to go see a Hematologist.

I flat out asked the dr if its possible that this is cancer and its a slow developing one or if its possible that it could turn into cancer.  His response was ” absolutely “.

Call it naive, call it frustrated, call it fed up , but I thought cancer was off the table.  I guess its on the table, I guess everything is on the table.Bone marrow test too is on the table.   Its like a viking table. Huge and ginormous and full of crap.

I’m looking at things differently than I did before. I am sick, no one knows how sick. And some days are better than others. But I can’t stop living my life.

So, I am not going to stress. I can’t.  I just gotta go day by day and enjoy things as I can .  I know some days will be better than others . And some days is better than no days. I’ll take what I can .

I have a busy week ahead.  Hoping for minimal to no flare ups.

Hoping everyone has a great week !

Blog Signature

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

