I’m THAT mom… and I’m okay with that

Happy Women’s March Day !

 

th-4

The significance of this day has left me with so many thoughts, I just had to share some.

All this talk of Women’s rights is so vital.  If it weren’t for women’s rights, there is no way I could be the person I am today .

This is my body and ain’t no one stopping me from doing what I choose to with it.

I pray I am setting a good example for my daughter to be independent, be strong and to do what makes her happy. I hope these decisions continue to be hers.

I feel I am a hard working , kick ass momma.

I don’t know about you, but I have been seeing so much about ” Super Moms” lately.

You know who I am talking about, Those perfect moms that make it to every performance, every PTA meeting, every field trip, make every lunch (complete with love note ), make every game, take their kids to every birthday party, bakes for every bake sale, sells the most at every fundraiser…. we all know that mom.

I am in no way knocking this, just sharing my thoughts.

But Guess what bitches? It ain’t me.

Yes, I am THAT mom.  I never make it to the field trips , the performances, or any meetings. I make it to most games, we go to some birthday parties, never bake for a sale. And on occasion, we might get some fundraiser sales.

“Good Golly Meg, why are you such a horrible parent?” you may be thinking .

The answer is simple and becoming much much more common. I know there are probably thousands in the same position I am in.

I work. I work full time. Monday – Friday and every other Saturday . And when I am not at work, I am still responding to emails and on occasion taking work related calls.I have a good job and I am taken care of.  I have been with my company for over 10 years. I would say still = 90 % of school functions that we have been invited to are during school hours. How about throwing  us working parents a bone?

I work to provide for my family.  I am not ashamed to say we need two incomes for our family of 5. I am so incredibly thankful for the stability my job has provided us.

And while Working Mom Guilt still gets me every time one of these things come up, I still think of the big picture.

My family has gotten used to the food in their bellies and the roof over their heads.  I’d like to keep it that way . The clothes on their backs, they like those too.

So, while I may not make it to everything and not participate in every school function, I am still their biggest cheerleader in life. I choose to work to make sure they have what they need and them some. If I didn’t work, we would not be going to Disney in April. I would not have the ways and means to do the things that we do together.  Even if it is just going to get ice cream , its creating memories. And I am determined to make sure no matter what , my kids have good memories to look back on .

They may not remember that I didn’t make it to the book fair, but they will remember goofing off with me going for a ride or playing mini golf.

Creating positive lasting memories is what I would like for my kids. I don’t know how I am doing , I’ll probably find out when they have kids.

I’ve been the unconventional mom, I have been the cool mom, I’ve been the asshole mom, I’ve been the young mom

I’ve  been that mom that was the youngest in the room , with my jeans and t shirt on surrounded by the “stepford wives ” .  I got the stares and looks.  Even though our kids were the same age in the same activity ( on the occasion I was able to make it to something) but I had my son at 18 and these folks waited til they were older. Got looks for that too.

I own my shit. I was a young mom. I work full time. I love my family fiercely . I have made bad decisions. I have made good decisions.

I hope that all this talk in the political universe will continue to allow me to be me.

THAT MOM.

A full time working married mom of 3 who is raising 3 incredible, caring , empathetic, creative,  human beings.

Be good to your kids. Be good to your family.  Be good to people.

I am hopeful that the next 4 years do not set us back 50.

Blog Signature

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

