Trying Something Different

and-now-for-something-completely-different-1

 

Hello Big World! I know , I know, its been months.  It’s not  you, its me, lol.  So, if I’m being honest, I have been a lump.  I am dealing with chronic illness ( fibro and still undiagnosed “Meganitis ” )  and all the joys ( NOT ) that go along with it and basically just trying to stay afloat in this crazy world.  Long story short, I am in pain everyday.  And fatigued. Good Lord, the exhaustion !  I wish I could find a way to combat it.

So, I have been wallowing in this pit of dispair and honestly , its been 2 years I have been down , if we are counting .   I have let it hold me back and control me and I need to break free . I have read several times that exercising , while it will hurt, in the long run , I will feel better. I think I owe it to myself to explore these options.

Nothing in life would make me happier than returning to Coach Jane and Crossroads .  Unfortunately that is not in the cards right now, but I am not writing it off down the road a ways.  I need something I can do when I have energy, which means working out at home.  I need need something low impact while my body adjusts .

So, I have decided to try something new to see if it helps me. I could be completly wrong and this could blow up in my face, but I am going to give it a go. I am currently on Gabapentin for my issues and let me tell you , I thought I was nuts when I had gained 40 lbs, but it turns out , lots of folks gain weight with Gabapentin. I need a way to combat it, cause honestly , I am less sore when I take my meds and really don’t want to change that up right now.

I joined some Fibro support groups to see if I could relate to some folks and get just some general info.  Its a real great forum .  Here and there folks would post about if they were working out and the thing that came up more and more was Yoga and Piyo . Piyo is a Beachbody program.  After a lot of research and speaking to people, I decided to give Piyo and the Beachbody programs a try. I am a bit nervous since even when I was working out, yoga was not something I was into, but I kinda need this is going to be my wheelhouse for a while.

I plan on diving in tomorrow .  I gotta get a yoga mat.  I will check in and let you all know what I think .

Hopefully, I can find the balance and shake this funk.

Thanks for coming on the swim folks!

Blog Signature

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Trying Something Different

  1. How interesting. I am awake earlier than I should be. I tend to only be able to fall asleep with white noise, and I use the TV for it. Lately, an infomercial for Piyo has been on when I’ve woken up early. I’m listening to it again now (I feel like I practically have it memorized.) They do a great job of marketing to Spoonies – middle of the night and talking about how the workout has “modifications” for those with chronic ilness, and it’s designed to be doable at home, safely, by everyone. I’m curious to know if those claims turn out to be true. Maybe if so, I’ll eventually try it out instead of just trying to fall back asleep to it…

    • I gave it my first try last night and it is definitely doable I feel. They also have a person doing modifications in the video which I found helpful . Coming from a place where I used to do Crossfit before I got sick , it is way different and a much slower pace which is what I need right now . But I think this is something I will be able to do , I hope . Lol
      .

Leave a Reply

